Baby we were born to run… or not

Just before Christmas I had a consultation with exercise physiologist and fellow blogger Liz, from Last Chance Training. I’d been tweeting and blogging about my sore back, hip and hip flexors and was keen to get to the ‘bottom’ of the problem (God, I’m so hilarious!)… so the appointment with Liz was just what I needed. Plus, we’d been commenting on each others’ blogs and tweeting for a while AND are in the same town (a rarity in social-media world), so it was good to finally meet face to face.

Amongst other things Liz suggested some stretches to help my hip / back issues and also recommended I see a good physiotherapist, osteopath or similar for a decent or regular massage. Naturally I did the stretches diligently for about 10 days but have slackened off since I’ve come back to work (I promise I’ll restart today, Liz!) and I’m yet to make an appointment to see the physio. (Oops!)

hero - life's too shortI liked that Liz was very pragmatic: she didn’t try to sell me on doing those things I didn’t want to do, or have no interest in doing. She’d read my blog posts for months, which was actually a HUGE benefit as I couldn’t fib and didn’t feel like I needed to.  She already knew what I was doing and wasn’t doing; and what I did and didn’t like.

When I commenced with my gym one of the exercise physiologists gave me a program. I had to complete some amazingly-detailed forms and an assessment of sorts (WAY more comprehensive than any gym I’d joined in the past where I’m sure staff used to give everyone the same generic program!). However, me being me, I’ve never ventured anywhere near the drawer where my program is kept.

It appears I’m more of a class-goer. And perhaps (when I think of it) I always have been. At the moment, for example, I much prefer Zumba, Circuit or Hip Hop and the like for my cardio exercise; and Circuit, Pilates or Pump for strength and core training.

Using her well-honed investigative skills (ie. reading my blogs and tweets) Liz was also well-aware I’d restarted the C25k program a second time (having crashed and burned in Week two first time around). Although I’d tried to approach it positively, I’d just completed the second week and continued to struggle through the 3 minute runs. And I hated it. Hate hate HATED it. (In case you had any doubts!)

I’m pretty sure my sneaky (though rare) weekday tweets reflected my dread of the impending C25k session at the gym as I sat at my desk obsessing about what was to come. “When was the fun supposed to start?” I couldn’t help but wonder.

Yet again I was torn. I’d already quit once but this time I’d vowed to stick with it. No matter what. Other people love running. I always feel VERY  inadequate when I awaken each morning to see tweets from those who’ve ‘smashed’ out a 10km run; or taken it easy with a pathetic 5km ‘trot’. FFS!

"Do What You Love"I hated the runs but didn’t want to be a quitter. A failure. AGAIN! I was constantly telling myself ‘YOU VILL LEARN TO LOVE ZIS RUNNING!’ (complete with faux German accent!).

And then I saw Liz. Her philosophy was simple. “You hate it, so don’t do it! Voila! “Do something else,” she said. She knew I loved dance so suggested I pick up a second dance class somewhere to augment my week’s cardio workouts. She also said I might actually ‘feel’ like running when I’ve lost a bit more weight and start to get a bit fitter. But for now, she said, not to push it.

I’ve long been an advocate of ‘doing what you love’. Just last week I wrote here about the need for moderation and balance. It’s one thing losing the weight (if I ever do) but another thing SUSTAINING that weight loss and sustaining the diet and exercise that got you there. I’ve been there; don’t that. And… I have the multi-sized wardrobe to prove it! So the notion wasn’t new to me, but it was unbelievably freeing to hear someone who I respected (and knew what they were talking about), say it.

I had this post party-drafted when I watched a great video from MizFitOnline on the weekend. In it, she talks about the myriad of ‘challenges’ currently out there. You know the ones: do 1 million burpees a day; plank a day; 1000 push-ups a day. And the like. Not to mention the ‘how far can you run?’ ones. She vlogged after a Twitter conversation with someone who felt like a failure because they couldn’t keep up with the Joneses. And the Smiths. And the other lycra-clad gym and burpee bunnies.

just remember thisLike me, the Twitterer was reading about everyone else’s achievements and not faring well in comparison. Like me, she felt inadequate. MizFit was reassuringly zen about it all, suggesting that the notion of ‘challenges’ may suit some, but not everyone. Her own mantra she said was, “To do a little bit, every day until I’m dead.” Morbid but, again, pragmatic. She talked about the ‘challenges’ out there and said, “The fact that I get up and do it every day is enough. That is as big a deal as running a half-marathon.”

I’ve followed MizFit for a while, but only recently started commenting on her blog posts because, in all honesty, I felt a bit intimidated before that. I’m SO far from fit that there are a number of health-related blogs I don’t feel QUALIFIED to comment on. So, it was reassuring to hear her being so realistic. In addition, this was the first time I’d seen her ‘animated’ and there was something very engaging about her. I can see why she’d be a great trainer and instructor. Sitting there with this AMAZINGLY strong, fit and lean looking body she shrugged and said she’s not ‘hard core’ when it comes to workouts. “It’s more about consistency. A little bit, every day. Until I’m dead.” And then my favourite line, which (though I am anti-mantra) I will commit to memory:

Because you don’t choose to compete, doesn’t mean you aren’t a competitor.

It wasn’t profound, but it was. If you know what I mean. Like Liz’s comment about running…  hearing it from someone else was akin to Moses hearing God’s voice in the mountains – or wherever he was (it’s been a LONG time since Sunday School, though my mother would be horrified at my ignorance… sorry Mum!). I mean, I’m an adult. I’m pretty much free to make my own decisions and do most-anything that I want. I know I shouldn’t NEED permission from others to live my life as I wish. But…. again I must confess, a bit of support or positive reinforcement goes a long LONG way!

Surely I can’t be alone in that. I wonder, does anyone else feel the same way? Is hearing it from someone else different to knowing it yourself?

32 comments

    • Thank you so much. It may sound weird (and I don’t mean it to be stalkerish) but I seriously did find you really engaging and natural in the vlog. Have you thought about doing any media (not sure: TV etc) type stuff? Some people can come across as stilted or just uninteresting, but you didn’t. AT ALL!

  1. I do enjoy reading your posts!

    It’s interesting you bring this topic up. I’ve had recent experience with ‘labels’ and a ‘pack mentality’ in telling you that you must be wrong, because you don’t agree ‘or follow’… it’s a bit like that with everything, isn’t it.

    I know that I’m getting out there and doing the best I can. It’s all we really can do in the end, don’t you think?

    P.S How are the Caramellos going? I hope not too well 😀

    • You will be pleased to know I have been caramello koala-free since 1 January! The weight-loss is going well, as well (amazing!!!).

      I was worried (when writing this post) people would think I was judging them for doing the challenges or setting their running goals, but I tried to make it more about me (more than happy to share my own stories and foibles!!!) by flagging it’s not right FOR ME! Since the new year started I’ve been hitting the gym each weekday (and yes, I do only realise we’re 11 days into the year), but I was doing the same before Christmas as well – 5 days a week at the gym… but didn’t feel like I was doing enough because SO many others are out there running kilometre after kilometre and getting up at 4am to climb mountains etc.

      Both Liz and Miz helped me realise that my Zumba class or my walk is just as much of an achievement. (And I need to stop bloody comparing myself to other people!)

      Congratulations on getting out there and doing YOUR best!

      Deb

  2. Absolutely. It’s one thing to “know” something, but we doubt ourselves so much that we don’t aways believe it. Hearing the exact same thing from someone whose opinion we respect makes us sit up and take notice.

    I hate cardio classes. H.A.T.E. I make an exception for spin and for a weekly Boxfit class, but anything involving co-ordination, dance-type moves (or just not crashing into other people) is pure unadulterated torture for me. So I simply don’t do them.

    As for running? I don’t love it, but when I’m at my lightest, fittest and my back and hips aren’t being (literal) pains in my arse, I find that if I persist with my efforts, I get into a rhythm and it isn’t awful at all. I was chuffed to complete two 5k and one 8k event a few years back, but just haven’t really got back into it. Maybe this year…

    P.S. Liz is usually right. Listen to the boss. 😉

    • It’s funny hearing people talk about aerobic / dance-type classes with horror because I love them so much and I assume runners think the same about me when they hear me talk about running. I don’t know why I think one type of exercise is more legitimate than others – strange, isn’t it?!

      Mostly I stay away from classes I dislike (For example, I think I would rather gnaw my own arm off than do a spin class!) but the running thing just seems to hang over me… taunting me. Argh!

      I think the (only) good thing I do is mix up my classes and mostly do just one of each thing each week, so there’s lots of variety and lots of different bits (of me) working.

      My gym actually has a couple of classes on hold over this holiday period so Liz tweeted me a cardio workout (treadmill, cross-trainer, rower etc) last week when I pondered on what I might do. So… while I don’t like training by myself, it’s been handy to have a trainer-approved workout as a back-up!

      Deb

  3. Thanks for the kudos Deb – I think the “do what you love” exercise wise attitude for me has firmed up even more in my 40s where I’m becoming a cantankerous old biddy! I think I like the word “cantankerous” almost as much as I love “skullduggery”!

    x

  4. Another fantastic post Deb and so true!! It’s so important that you do what you like because otherwise you may just not do it! If anyone had asked me a year ago to try running I would have laughed at them – I was always dead against it. I think for me it was something that was convenient – I knew I had to find something that fitted in with my life and my limited exercise time. Going to gym classes was out of the question – the whole concept of having to fit in with a timetable was a worry and my best time to exercise was always going to be in the early hours of the morning. Basically I had to start running to make my exercise time as efficient as possible. Luckily for me I didn’t end up hating it and in fact slowly came to love it! It really is best to find what works best for you and be consistent! I wish I could get to a Zumba class – I reckon that would be fun!

    • As you know from my endless posting about it, I LOVE Zumba Georgie, but am not sure if I’d like all Zumba or just the classes my gym does which may be a bit more Body Jam-ish. I’ve actually been scouting about for more classes, but timetables seem to be in transition with the school holidays. I’m happy to pay extra to go to casual classes at a gym somewhere if it’ll keep me moving….

      Deb

  5. Yes!!! And I love the way you wrote about it. It took me a long time to understand that I didn’t have to sign up for other people’s goals. I think what happens, especially in the weight loss/fitness blogging community, is that we see what other people are doing, and we see them getting the hive-fives and the “you GO girls” and we want that too.

    I took up running back in 2006 and did it for a couple of years until I got injured because I was trying too hard, plus, I got Lyme disease! I gave it up but there’s a part of me that wants to get back to it and if I do, I will do it on my terms!

    • So very true Karen. The trainer I mentioned DID say that perhaps one day I will want to try running again… when I’ve lost some more weight and am fitter and it isn’t as much of an effort. At the moment I do OCCASIONALLY have to run in a bootcamp or circuit training etc… but it’s different doing a couple of short runs up a hill or across a room – to pounding the pavement (or treadmill) endlessly. (And I agree… there’s something alluring about the ‘going running’ thing. Perhaps I’d just like to be able to say that: “I’m going for a run.”) Yes indeed, it seems I am a shallow person! Hmmm….

      Deb

  6. I think you got great advice and it only confirmed what you already knew but didn’t admit, IMO. So, go with what you like. You’ll not only like it more (how stupid does that sound) but that means you’ll be more inclined to get it done! We are all different. One size doesn’t fit all any more with exercise than it does with dieting. Or jeans. I tried c25k and actually liked it. But only did a couple weeks because of aches and pains. So, I am not a runner. That’s okay. And as for Miz… she is awesome and supportive and wise. Glad that you have started to connect and to be inspired.

    • Am v.inspired by Miz Karen, and note there’s another vlog up today. One of the things I probably forgot to say in the post, was that my aches that I mentioned were probably running-related. My hip started really playing up once I started the C25k… again probably from the ‘load’ it was carrying as 105 (or so)kg pounded along on the treadmill. In reality I can work as hard doing other things, or even less hard for longer if I need to!

      Deb

  7. Great that you are recognizing who you are, what you love, and what it takes to healthy (consistency over everything). You don’t have to run to lose weight or to be heatlhy. Like other commenters I tried C25k (when I had an injured shoulder and could only do lower body exercises). After week 2, I HATED IT. HATED IT WITH A RED HOT PASSION. Also? I hurt.

    But I love weight training. We women lifters are a very small almost ignored minority in the fitness blogging world, so I truly understand about not feeling like you fit in. Still, I mentally wake up every morning singing “I’ve got to be me!” (my high school class song -I’m also old enough to be most bloggers’ mother) and just go lift.

    The smile I wear when leaving the gym is the best pay off for doing my thing I could ask for.

    (though a couple more comments on my blog or twitter would be nice, too).

    • I’ll drop by your blog Deb!

      I just said to Karen, that I didn’t mention it in my blog but my injuries were probably running-related or exacerbated by the running. Certainly I felt some discomfort in my knees when I ran.

      I have to admit, sometimes I do ‘wonder’ WHY I think I need to train… other than to be fit and healthy and for those endorphins to kick in. It’s not like I’m training for the Olympics that I need to be ‘race-ready’…

      I don’t love weight-training when it’s just me (though it’s possibly because it’s out of my comfort zone at the moment, though I used to do it), but do Pump classes and weights in my circuit classes at the moment. And very much recognise the importance it plays in losing and maintaining weight, strong bones etc..

      Thanks for visiting.

      Deb

    • Julia… I once LOVED step classes… and one particular class with an instructor who’d give us these really complicated routines. I LOVED them. In fact I’d do almost anything to get there – climb over bodies etc. Except I kept getting plantar fascitiis (sp?) as the underneath of my foot would twang when I’d step down on my toes – and then I’d be out of action for weeks. It’s something I still need to be careful of.

      My current (little) gym doesn’t offer step but I find it a bit tedious unless the instructor’s pretty inventive. It’s good though that you enjoy (or don’t hate; or don’t hate TOO much) running. It’s kinda reassuring and freeing to have people say “I can’t dance to save myself…” to know that we’re all different and have different skills/strengths etc.

  8. Oh, to the Em, to the Gee! I, too, was starting to get the feeling that the ONLY way I was going to be able to shed all these pounds was to become a marathon runner because every success story seems to end, or shall I say continues, that way! I. Hate. Running. Thank god, I am not alone and that someone with some real fitness knowledge like MizFit can justify that I don’t have to be a triathlete to be fit! May we both make it there some day without having to run across a freakin’ finish line!

    • So so true! I’ve recently lost about 25kg and about 20kg of that was mostly from just doing interval sessions on an exercise bike as I was too unfit to do much else. I even got shin splints when I walked. I try to remind myself of that now occasionally (as I still want to lose about 15-20kg) – ie. that it’s still MOSTLY about the diet… but I like Miz’s adage… “just move a little bit, every day”. I heard that and thought, “I can do that.” And it all felt a little less overwhelming!

      Deb

  9. Hi Deb! Well, I don’t know anybody who isn’t choosing their type of fitness. No one has the time to do it all. I too don’t want to run and don’t feel bad about that. Liz, is right, Just do exercises you want. Miz is right, it is huge just to keep on everyday. But there is such freedom and happiness to absorb this internally. 🙂 Marion

    • Marion, I seriously don’t know why it felt like I needed ‘permission’ from someone else to not progress with the running (notice I avoided using the word, ‘quit’ there!!!!). Says something about not valuing my own opinion or something perhaps. But it’s been quite freeing to stop thinking that I’m a failure or a cop-out because I’m not continuing with the running! It means I actually happily schedule exercise into my day! (Good God?!?!?!)

  10. […] not much into challenges, indeed I wrote a somewhat sarcastic blog post earlier this year about the myriad doing the rounds. Plank-a-day, Burpees-a-day, Push […]

  11. […] and feeling very liberated and less stressed after the contemplation which went into my recent Born to Run post.  This week I did two cardio circuit classes, one of which was very strength-focussed which […]

Leave a comment