Yogi Deb

I’ve kinda glossed over this fact, so unless you like me on Facebook or follow me on Twitter (and if not, why not?!) then you may not know that I’ve started yoga.

I did yoga at a gym more than a decade ago but struggled because I hyper-extend my knees and legs / hips and am prone to injure myself; PLUS back then I worried I wasn’t burning enough calories and – when one instructor left and another arrived – I took the opportunity to do a high-impact aerobics class instead.

However, just over two weeks ago fate intervened. I was attending a local women’s networking function in my new hometown and I won the lucky door prize which was…. one month of limitless yoga classes. It’s something I couldn’t really afford to do at the moment (pay for yoga on top of $10/each Zumba class) but it’s exactly what I need. Like I said, it was fate. Karma. Kismet. Etcetera.

Amazingly (for me) I went along straight away. No procrastinating for a change. Over the past two weeks I’ve done four classes on Mondays and Fridays and then….

Yes, it’s true. I got up early on a Saturday to attend a 7am yoga class. Outside. In winter. (Well, sort of. See pic below!)

The classes I’m attending are Yoga Chi Gung classes, so they’re gentler than Hatha Yoga (and other types, I suspect). The Holistic Hub (in Hervey Bay) describes Yoga Chi Gung on its site as “cultivating awareness and resolving stress, both physical and psychological.

” Yoga Chi Gung is a system of body friendly exercises suitable for all levels of fitness and ages.  It develops quiet strength, flexibility and balance rather than a lot of difficult poses.”

In a world first I’m reminding myself that I’m working on my mind, soul and spirit, as much as my body.

There are still challenges. Although I’m still quite flexible, my belly (bigger than it once was) is often in the way; and my long body / short arm-issue (which was problematic when I did pilates) is a bother. But… I’m hanging in there: listening to my instructor, Jess talk about our chakras and I’m listening with an open mind. A couple of times I’ve had goosebumps when we do certain moves brushing energy about. Whether it’s a winter thing or something more I’m not sure.

yoga today

I want to try Hatha Yoga before my month pass runs out and I intend to work out how I can continue some classes after that time. Perhaps I need to drop one of my two Zumba classes until I’m feeling more financially-sound.

But, in the meantime, I’m quite chuffed with my exercise regime. It’s nowhere near what it was a year ago, before the seachange, but it is what it is and it’s something. In the past week alone I’ve done two Zumba classes, three yoga classes and a walk. So… I’m pretty pleased with that.

PS. Two birds (sitting near the corner post) participated in our end-of-class relaxation session and a dolphin gave us a run for our money as we were warming up. Yoga by the sea was most definitely worth getting up early for!

 

20 comments

  1. Deb, I’m excited for you! You write about Yoga like you really like it, and you are going early in the morning. That is wonderful. Yoga is all about accepting yourself and your body, so I can’t imagine you’ll be writing about your too long torso for long; soon you’ll your torso is perfect and able and lets you do the things you want to do. I can’t wait to read more!

    • Yes indeed Char. It’s a lovely feeling, mind you, it’s easy to feel good after ANY exercise!

  2. You sound like you’ve got a good routine exercise going at the moment. I wish I could commit to something like yoga, not just for the exercise but for the spiritual side mainly. The breathing and mindfulness could certainly be helpful.

    I am hyper-mobile and have dodgy knees too so whenever I’m expected to do positions that are uncomfortable I feel embarrassed and so usually don’t go back. Gotta get over that!

    V.

    • Yes Vanessa, this is the first time I’ve actually done yoga with the spiritual / mindfulness stuff in mind, rather than seeing it as a way to tick an ‘Exercise’ box on my To Do List!

  3. That sounds awesome. I really enjoyed just walking along the pier with you, so yoga must have been terrific. I’m actually pretty hopeless at the physical side of yoga, but I like it anyway!

    • I struggle more with the physical side than I used to (big belly issues) but am quite proud of myself that I’ve evolved into someone who can appreciate the mindfulness side of it!

  4. Yoga by the sea sounds like a dream!

    I also did yoga years ago but stopped after I got a over-training syndrome (!) after participating in too many arduous Ashtanga yoga classes… And I’m happy I’m not the only person in the world who has body dimension problems! 🙂 My arms and legs are quite short in proportion and there are many asanas I couldn’t do.

    • Oh Satu, I definitely have a long body (and perhaps also short arms!!!) which is v.problematic. When I did pilates I struggled with certain moves (like dips on the fit ball etc). I can’t sit for e.g. and have my hands touch the ground / chair I’m sitting on.

      😦

Leave a comment